Learning Live with AWS & HashiCorp

Building a Microservices Architecture on AWS with Terraform

February 14, 2022

Hey there! Cole Morrison from HashiCorp and I (Jenna, here 👋 ) teamed up to build a microservices architectures on AWS with Terraform. Over the next few weeks, we’ll be building out this architecture on Amazon ECS, bring in a service mesh, Consul from HashiCorp, and we’ll show you how to do all of this with Terraform.

Keep reading to join us for the next show, check out the code, or dive right into any episode!

Next Show

⏰ Thursday, April 28, 2022 at 10am PT / 12pm CT / 6pm GMT
🔗 https://twitch.tv/hashicorplive

The show airs on HashiCorp Live here every other Thursday at 10am PT / 12pm CT / 6pm GMT.

The Code

Grab the code here.

Episode 1


Ep. 1 Summary & Resources In the first episode, we discuss the foundations of a microservices architecture on AWS, the problem space it solves, and where a service mesh fits in. Then we set up a Terraform project from scratch, learn about some of the Terraform fundamentals, and create a VPC on AWS.

Episode Resources


Episode 2


Ep. 2 Summary & Resources In the second episode, we show you how to host your first continerized service on Amazon ECS using Terraform to set it up.

Episode Resources

  • 📺 Go watch here
  • 🖥 The code, which we’ll update this after each episode so you have the latest and greatest to reference
  • 📄 The Terraform provider docs
  • 📄 The Terraform language docs

Episode 3


Ep. 3 Summary & Resources In the third episode, we show you how to add additional services and an external service (a service outside your ECS cluster, a database) to illustrate the problem of communication, discovery, and scaling.

Episode Resources

  • 📺 Go watch here
  • 🖥 The code, which we’ll update this after each episode so you have the latest and greatest to reference
  • 📄 The Terraform provider docs
  • 📄 The Terraform language docs

Episode 4


Ep. 4 Summary & Resources In episode 4, we introduce the concept of a service mesh, give a primer for HashiCorp's Consul service mesh, and start setting up the Consul servers with Terraform.

Episode Resources

  • 📺 Go watch here
  • 🖥 The code, which we’ll update this after each episode so you have the latest and greatest to reference
  • 📄 The Terraform provider docs
  • 📄 The Terraform language docs
  • 📄 Consul Architecture Overview

Wrapping up

Hope to see you in our next Learning Live with AWS & HashiCorp livestream, which airs every other Thursday at 10am PT / 12pm CT / 6pm GMT. Join us!

Like what you read? Follow me over on the Dev.to community or give me a follow on Twitter to stay updated!